Roots of Prevention Awards

Every year we hold an award celebration to publicly recognize individuals, programs, and organizations who have positively impacted Burlington by providing prevention opportunities and supporting health and wellness in the community.

Become a Roots of Prevention Sponsor

Become a sponsor of our Roots of Prevention Award Ceremony and join us in recognizing and celebrating the individuals, programs, and organizations working to make Burlington a healthier and safer place for all of us! Click here to fill out our online sponsorship form. 

This year’s event will be virtual! This will not be just another Zoom meeting! REGISTER HERE

Wednesday, September 30th from 6:30-8:30pm
6:30-7:00 Silent Auction, networking and social time, Burlington trivia, prevention in action
7:00-8:30 Program, including keynote and awards
image.png  Keynote: Tracy Dolan has served as Deputy Health Commissioner at the Vermont Department of Health since January 2011. She provides leadership for a range of public health programs and manages coordination with the Agency of Human Services and other departments and agencies throughout the state. She has also served as the department’s director for public health planning and performance improvement. Dolan has been working in public health for more than 20 years, first working with vulnerable populations in reducing the risk of HIV infection in Canada. She spent 10 years working in international health, primarily in sub-Saharan Africa, with a focus on HIV/AIDS care and prevention, maternal and child health, and youth reproductive health.

2020 Awardees Announced:

DG Weaver Award: Deb Anger
Outstanding Program Award: Parent University
Outstanding Individual: Tian Berry
Youth and Families Award: Mellisa Cane

Past Awardees:

• 2019 
DG Weaver Award: Gayle Botelho
Outstanding Program Award: Dr. Betsy Hoza and Children & Teachers (CATS) on the Move
Outstanding Individual: Maia Vota
Outstanding Business Award: Ben Pincus, Aikido of Champlain Valley
Youth and Families Award: Ponga Lubula

• 2018 
DG Weaver Award: Hawa Adam
Outstanding Program Award: Burlington Boys Soccer: Jack Myers, Bob Day & Fran Demasi
Outstanding Group Award: BHS International Club
Youth and Families Award: Deena Murphy

• 2016 
DG Weaver Award: Move It! Move It! Program, Integrated Arts Academy
Program Award: The CHARM Collaborative
Individual Award: Clare Wool, parent volunteer
Youth and Families Award: Family Steering Committee, Janet S. Munt Family Room

• 2015
DG Weaver Award: Patty Wesley, BHS School Counselor & Director of Guidance & Counseling
Program Award: Boys & Girls Club Teen Program, Jack Stackhouse and Jeff Thompson
Individual Award: Melanie Needle, Senior Planner, Chittenden County Regional Planning Commission
Youth and Families Award: Nurses of the Burlington School District

• 2014
DG Weaver Award: Suzy King & Beth Evans, Burlington High School
Program Award: UVM Living Well
Individual Award: Scott LaMothe, Vermont Junior Relay Program
Youth and Families Award: Flynn Center Youth Programs

• 2013
DG Weaver Award: Jan Shamberger, Burlington High School
Program Award: Howard Center Safe Recovery Program
Individual Award: Dwight Brown, Burlington High School
Youth and Families Award: Ben Lane, YMCA Camp Abnaki

• 2012
DG Weaver Award: Chaska Richardson, Champlain Elementary School
Business Award: Melissa Short, Waggy’s Store and Deli
Individual Award: Tim Moran, Howard Center
Youth and Families Award: Dottie Olio, Boys and Girls Club

• 2011
DG Weaver Award: Jane Zenaty – Hunt Middle School
Business Award: Cliff and Ellen Cooper – North Avenue News
Program Award: Evy Smith – Tobacco Quit in Person Program
Youth and Families Award: Karen Carr – J.J. Flynn Elementary School

• 2010
DG Weaver Award: Henri Sparks – Burlington High School
Matt Young – Howard Center
Larry Walters – Community volunteer
Kathy Olwell – Sarah Holbrook Center

DG Weaver Award: Brian Williams – Burlington High School
Becky Cassidy – First Night Burlington
Jim and Denise Messier – Burlington Youth Football

Our Theme:


About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑